New Leaders, Solange’s Ballet, and Audience Anxieties

Click here for episode transcript.

 

Subscribe to The Dance Edit Extra: https://podcasts.apple.com/us/podcast/the-dance-edit-extra/id1579075769
Visit/add to the Dance Media Events Calendar: https://dancemediacalendar.com/
Get the latest dance news direct by subscribing to our free newsletters. Find the ones that match your interests: http://www.dancemagazine.com/subscribe

Links referenced in/relevant to episode 124:
-Guardian story on Aaron Watkin’s appointment at English National Ballet: https://www.theguardian.com/stage/2022/aug/24/english-national-ballet-announces-aaron-watkin-as-new-artistic-director
-Los Angeles Times story on Melissa Barak’s appointment at Los Angeles Ballet: https://www.latimes.com/entertainment-arts/story/2022-08-24/los-angeles-ballet-appoints-melissa-barak-artistic-director
-Classic FM report on dancer, teacher, and grandmother killed in Donetsk shelling: https://www.classicfm.com/discover-music/periods-genres/ballet/ballerina-missile-ukraine-russia/
-Newsweek piece on Kyiv City Ballet dancers who returned home to fight: https://www.newsweek.com/kyiv-city-ballet-dancer-us-tour-1734213
-Broadway World article on National Dance Day plans: https://www.broadwayworld.com/washington-dc/article/Kennedy-Center-to-Present-Three-Day-National-Dance-Day-Celebration-in-September-20220817
-New York Times story on Danni Gee’s appointment at The Joyce Theater: https://www.nytimes.com/2022/08/17/arts/dance/joyce-theater-danni-gee.html
-Sacramento Bee obituary for Barbara Crockett: https://www.sacbee.com/news/local/obituaries/article264685004.html
-New York Times feature on the drop in audience attendance: https://www.nytimes.com/2022/08/21/arts/performing-arts-pandemic-attendance.html