Tap Legacies, “In Balanchine’s Classroom,” and Sienna Lalau

Click here for episode transcript.

Links referenced in/relevant to episode 65:

-Chicago Sun-Times story on the death of dance coach Verndell Smith: https://chicago.suntimes.com/crime/2021/5/20/22445604/verndell-smith-dies-ultimate-threat-dance-organization-bud-billiken
-Billy Porter’s Hollywood Reporter feature: https://www.hollywoodreporter.com/news/general-news/billy-porter-hiv-positive-diagnosis-1234954742/
-Deadline obituary for Samuel E. Wright: https://deadline.com/2021/05/samuel-e-wright-dead-obituary-the-little-mermaid-sebastian-the-crab-broadway-mufasa-was-74-1234764019/
-The Washington Post obituary for Anna Halprin: https://www.washingtonpost.com/local/obituaries/anna-halprin-dead/2021/05/25/272dfeb6-3fc3-11e2-ae43-cf491b837f7b_story.html
-NPR piece on “Shuffle Along”‘s 100th anniversary: https://www.npr.org/2021/05/23/998962830/shuffle-along-changed-musical-theater-100-years-ago
-The Washington Post story on “The Mayor of Harlem”: https://www.washingtonpost.com/entertainment/theater_dance/bill-bojangles-robinson-mayor-of-harlem-documentary/2021/05/19/7e81c35c-b4d9-11eb-a980-a60af976ed44_story.html
-Trailer for “In Balanchine’s Classroom”: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CT2Vf833J00
-Out’s piece on Lil Nas X’s “SNL” performance, including video: https://www.out.com/music/2021/5/23/lil-nas-xs-montero-brings-gay-agenda-snl-rips-leather-pants
-Nas’ “Tonight Show” appearance, with rehearsal footage of the pole trick: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bfT607nr51A
-Sienna Lalau’s Instagram account: https://www.instagram.com/sienna.lalau/